Planning ahead

One thing I am realising with this challenge is the need to plan ahead. We are often fairly good at planning evening meals, but I usually have both breakfast and lunch in the staff restaurant when I’m at work.

So, this afternoon I have made a panful of soup which should last me for three lunches.

I have also made some herb and garlic croutons to go with it as I think the ‘value’ bread I have bought will be a bit nasty au naturel.

Now I just need to remember (a) to get up in time to have breakfast at home and (b) to take my soup and croutons to work with me tomorrow!

Right, off to start cooking tonight’s meal of baked potatoes in a spinach and cheese sauce, with a glass or two of wine – there might be pudding to follow too – and then I’ll bid farewell to cheese, potatoes and all things alcoholic or sweet for the next 5 days ….

The challenge?

Spend 5 days feeding yourself with £1 a day – the UK equivalent of the extreme poverty line.

The reason?

To give a glimpse into the lives of 1.4 billion people who have no choice but to live below the line every day – and who have to make £1 cover a lot more than food…

The details?

Sponsor me here, or sign up to do it yourself at: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/uk

Leave a Reply

