LBTL Day 4

Sorry if this blog is getting boring, but so is my week. It’s a quiet time at work, plus I’ve deliberately chosen to do this challenge in a week when I’ve got no evening commitments, and the food is getting very repetitive …

Breakfast – toast with margarine again, cost 7.5p.

Lunch was the last of my soup and garlic croutons, cost 28.5p. It’s getting thicker every time so I am adding some water, shame I used the last of the passata last night.

And for the evening meal, out came the biryani and dahl again, cost 47.5p. There was loads of biryani left, I think I overestimated the quantities on this one.

I am pleased that I seem to be coping without caffeine and alcohol okay so far, no withdrawal headaches or hard to ignore cravings. When boiling the kettle for a nice cup of hot water, I’ve found myself reaching for the teabags a few times though, but have stopped myself before pouring the water on. I’m definitely looking forward to coffee at breakfast and wine with dinner on Saturday though!

It struck me while I was eating my evening meal that it was made of almost exactly the same ingredients as the soup! I think using some of my budget on spices from the store cupboard (I haven’t attempted to cost the spices in detail) and making sure I included onions, garlic and lemon plus margarine for frying on my shopping list  has made the week’s menu more interesting, varied and tasty than it might have been. Without that this week would have been a lot more boring – in fact spice has been the variety of life this week, or something ….

The challenge?

Spend 5 days feeding yourself with £1 a day – the UK equivalent of the extreme poverty line.

The reason?

To give a glimpse into the lives of 1.4 billion people who have no choice but to live below the line every day – and who have to make £1 cover a lot more than food…

The details?

Sponsor me here, or sign up to do it yourself at: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/uk

2 thoughts on “LBTL Day 4

Leave a Reply

