All set for CCC

The Birmingham chapter of the Clandestine Cake Club meets today. This month’s theme is “Blow Away the Dust”, so I looked through my old cookery books and found an interesting sounding cake I’ve never made before in an old Cranks cookbook (published 1985).

P1000939

The book is well-used and many of its yellowing pages are coming adrift, but there are lots of recipes in it I’ve never tried including this one:

P1000940

So here’s the finished Date & Coconut Gateau! I’m looking forward to seeing what it’s like inside (I already know it’s going to be various shades of brown …) and trying a small piece of it later – and of course I should get to sample lots of other cakes too!

P1000938

Leave a Reply

